Nominations sought for 2018 Distinguished Writer Award Reply

The Presbyterian Writers Guild (PWG) is accepting nominations for its 2018 David Steele Distinguished Writer Award. All nominations must be emailed or postmarked by December 15, 2017.

The award is given biennially in even-numbered years to recognize the cumulative work and influence–regardless of genre or subject matter–of a Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) writer. The award will be presented at the PWG luncheon on Thursday, June 21, at the 223rd General Assembly (2018) in St. Louis.

Nominations for the award should include the writer’s PC(USA) affiliation, list of published work, and a 100-word essay describing why the nominee is deserving of the award. Contact information for both the nominator and the nominee must be included with each submission.

Previous winners include The Message author Eugene H. Peterson, The Christian Century editor/publisher John M. Buchanan, former Presbyterian News Service director Marj Carpenter, former Presbyterians Today editor Eva Stimson, children’s author Kathleen Bostrom, Sabbath in the Suburbs author MaryAnn McKibben Dana, novelists Doris Betts and Katherine Paterson, the late poet Ann Weems, Kansas City Star columnist Bill Tammeus, African-American religious historian Gayraud Wilmore, essayists Kathleen Norris and Frederick Buechner, and journalists Gustav Niebuhr and the late Vic Jameson.

The award is named for R. David Steele, a Presbyterian pastor best known for his whimsical books of poetry and thought-provoking column, “Tuesday Morning,” in The Presbyterian Outlook.

Send nominations to Emily Odom, chair of the DSDW Award Selection Committee, which includes PWG board members, Rebekah Hutto and Bill Lancaster, by email ( or by postal mail to 2336 Strathmoor Blvd., Louisville, KY 40205.